Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

osTicket v1.10 (stable) and Maintenance Release v1.9.15 are now available! Go get it now

Restricting New Ticket "Deptartment" and "Assigned To" by User Group?

Introduction
Hi I'm new to the forums and to osTicket so I'll give a little background. I'm a graphic designer and programmer and I've recently quit my day job to work for myself. My mind is generally very cluttered and I need a ticketing system so I can keep up with all of my projects and clients. By the way, this is a slick little system well done!

How I use osTicket
I make a new Department for each project I'm working on and create a user group matching that department name. I add Staff accounts for people involved in each project and put them into their respective User Group, which is set to only allow access to it's corresponding Department.

What I'm Looking To Do
It works as expected for hiding open department-based tickets from other groups but when a Staff user creates a new ticket, all departments and users show up in the "Department" and "Assign To" fields respectively, regardless of User Group the current (Staff-level) user is in.

Ideally I would like to be able to restrict both fields to only those Departments and Staff associated with the current user's Group. Since this is more like my personal project list, allowing new tickets and discussion with clients and others involved in each project, I don't need those involved in one project even knowing about my other projects and categorizations of tasks.

Can anyone offer some insight? Did any of that even makes sense? :D

Comments

• (feels like i should have made this in the Features Request - sorry mod!)
  • Any luck?

Hi... have you found any help for this?

I need something similar ... !:)
  • New Ticket by staff restrict department & assigned to drop down box